Holy crap! It’s already day 82!

Nothing shows how quickly time flies like recording your financial failures and successes.

This is pretty embarrassing. I’ll admit that in the beginning I was hoping that by simply writing everything down in a blog, somehow the Universe would make my blog like so many of the other wonderful financial blogs I’ve read where everything seems to go right and every month it seems their net worth grows exponentially by tens of thousands of dollars.

Sadly, that’s not the case for me.

I currently have $1500 in an “untouchable” RRSP account (meaning: I can take it if I really need it, but there would be financial and tax consequences that make it not worth it, short of threat of homelessness or something drastic like that).

And I have $450 in a savings account that I put in there on my husband’s last payday. He gets paid again in three days and if that money is still in there until then, I think I can officially say I’m not living paycheque to paycheque.

So to sum it up: I have almost $2000 more to my name than I did 82 days ago. I guess that’s actually something. I should be a little more happy about that, it does sort of feel like my first little real win.

And here’s another little update: Remember when I said that if this blog ever started making any money, I’d let everyone know? Well…

I made 14 cents!

In the middle of June I decided to get a premium account with WordPress. It cost me $129. I did it mainly for WordAds – so I could run ads and get paid for them.

I figured that WordPress already put ads in my posts, so I might as well pay for a premium account so I could get a share of the revenue. And I’ve used Google Adwords in the past on a Hubpages article I wrote that earned me approximately $100/year for a couple of years before completely dying off, so I thought the two were similar and that I’d be able to log into my WordPress WordAds account and see the little dollar sign tick up by 2 cents a day.

But WordAds is terrible.

You don’t get to see a daily breakdown of how much money your blog makes, so you have no idea how anything is calculated. They just update your account once a month and it’s not on a set day, so you really don’t know when it’s going to happen. It was not fun at all .

I knew I wasn’t going to make much money with WordAds, I’d be lucky to make $3 a month, but another big reason I wanted to try it was so I could see if people were actually reading my blog and engaging in it, or just coming to my site and being like “nah…” and clicking off. But I wasn’t able to see any of that info. I discovered I could get Google Analytics if I wanted to pay for the business package which is $389/year. So nope. No way.

Anyway, I cancelled premium about two weeks in. It’s nice that if you cancel within the first 30 days, you at least get a partial refund. They kept 30% of it, so I got $90 back.

So I guess I’ll just have to do things the old-fashioned way and assume that you readers are staying at least a few minutes to read a post or two. Or, if you’re bored and want to let me know for sure, don’t hesitate to comment. I may not write consistantly, but I’m definitely one of the OCD kind of writers who loves checking in regularly to see if anyone’s commented on or liked my posts.

Leave a Reply

