I have no idea how moms manage to juggle it all – work, children, a husband who acts like another child, the things you want to do, the things you should do…it’s so much!

I’ve been letting my writing go because I’ve been in a bit of a busy state, and when I get busy, my budgeting goes out the window. In one sense, I have been a little conscious of the small expenses that I’m trying to keep low, like eating out and summer toys, but the big picture has really gone to the wayside.

I haven’t done anything recently to lower expenses and I’m starting to get stressed out because my maternity EI is going to finish in two weeks and I’m not planning on going back to work…at least not in the traditional sense.

Okay, confession time (I find myself confessing a lot because the ideal version of me I have in my head that I want to write about rarely matches up with the reality version) – anyway, here’s my confession:

I started a business.

Gasp! If you know me, you know that’s a terrible idea. I’m an entrepreneur at heart and since I turned 18, I’ve started like 5 different businesses – only one of them made a profit and lasted more than a year. And here I am, at it again.

And to be honest, it’s not going so well.

I have a small facial business, and I’ve only been open for about two weeks, but haven’t had a single paying customer yet (though I’m going to start a Groupon campaign in two weeks, so that’ll really be the judge of my suckiness). The location isn’t ideal – it’s in a smaller town 15 minutes outside the big city – where the rent is cheap cheap cheap. I pay $200/month for my small space, instead of the at least $600-$700 I would have to pay here for a crappy part of the city. And because I had a lot of equipment already, I’ve only invested $1000 so far in equipment, products, decor, etc.

But I’ve discovered a terrible problem with the location – there’s already a girl who does facials out of her home and the community loves her. I screwed up by not realizing how much that would affect me.

But at least I didn’t sign a lease, it’s just month-to-month, so I’m going to work on getting everything I need – all the retail products, social media, protocols, etc – and looking for a space opening in my own neighbourhood – which is a really nice neighbourhood – but the commercial space is super limited and expensive.

It’s funny, just as I was learning this hard lesson about the bonds between community, my husband goes ahead last night and proves it to me again. He’s part of an online community, a Facebook group for storm chasers, that has close to 15,000 members. He decided to make stickers to sell to the group last night and in like an hour, he already sold a ton and made over $200 profit. No regular person would spend $8 on a single sticker, but when you’re in a group of like-minded people who support and encourage each other, it makes sense to spend that money.

And really if I use my hindsight, I have also seen the power of community over and over with bloggers. I love bloggers! I didn’t know I would until I started stumbling around WordPress and discovering so many wonderful people and writers. I’ve had a lot of support for this blog from other bloggers and I see so many others getting the same support.

Apparently it takes three examples for me to finally learn a lesson, but I’m glad I did. I know that it doesn’t really matter right now if this specific business succeeds, at least I can use it as an exercise to seek out and engage with new communities.

 

Leave a Reply

